Baked delights: brownie mug cake

It’s Sunday which in my world means it’s baking day. Or cake day. Or sod the diet day. You may pick whichever appeals to you best. Or, if all three apply to you then all I will say is you’re a person after my own heart!

But it has to be said that somedays I really can’t be bothered baking and really don’t want to be left with half a cake on Monday when the diet restarts for the 4,637th time (my sugar addiction tends to win over my will power). But cakes don’t normally come in single portions and those that don’t are very rarely gluten free (although it should be noted that Gü’s chocolate soufflés are gluten free and hit the mark rather well) so when I started hearing about mug cakes that could be baked in the microwaves, I started to get rather excited.

chocolate brownie mug cake

The first recipe I tried was the basic one and consisted of 4 tbsps flour, 2 tbsps cocoa, 2 tbsps sugar, 1 egg, 3 tbsps milk, 3 tbsps oil or melted butter plus an optional tbsp of chocolate chips. All these were mixed together into a batter in a large mug and then nuked in the microwave for 3 minutes on high.

It promised much but let’s just say it didn’t live up to expectations. When I say that, I mean it was edible but you’d be better off not bothering. I’m serious. Don’t bother.

So when I saw a recipe for brownie mug cake, I was a bit sceptical…

My scepticism was totally unwarranted  on this occasion because this stuff is like crack. It’s crack in squidgy chocolate cake form… Totally lethal when you nearly always have the ingredients in the house.

The recipe alleges that it serves 2 but I maintain that’s total rubbish. It feeds me and me alone. What can I say? I am a pig. Oink.

The recipe is ever so slightly more complicated than the previous one but the improvement is immeasurable and as the whole process still takes less than 10 minutes so it’s hardly an ordeal.

The ingredients are:

  • 2oz  dark chocolate chopped/broken into pieces
  • 2oz butter
  • 4 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tbsp plain flour
  • 1 egg

Place the chocolate and butter in a large mug and melt in the microwave. This will depend on how big your pieces of chocolate are so I’m not going to try and give you timings. What I will say is to keep an eye on it because chocolate burns and burnt chocolate is really not very nice.

Once everything is melted, mix in the sugar, flour and the egg until you get a nice smooth batter.  After then, put the mug in the microwave for a minute and a half. The cake will have risen up quite a bit and when you tilt it, it should come away from the side in a solid mass but should still look quite sticky. It’s really easy to over cook it and if you do it’s fine but not as good as when it’s all squidgy.

If desired you can tip it out onto a plate but I just dig in with a fork. It would probably be good with cream or vanilla ice cream but why dilute the chocolateyness?!

Enjoy and let me know how you get on.

Average Josephine x

oink

What do you think? Add your views!

