Spot the “deliberate” mistake

When I saw this on Pinterest I knew that I had to write something about it. It is an error that I see on a regular basis and drives me up the wall.

To live a creative life we must lose our fear of being wrong spelling mistake

Spot the deliberate mistake Source: mevesdropping.tumblr.com

If you can’t see what’s wrong in that sentence, please go and look up the word “loose” in a dictionary. Off the top of my head I will say it is an adjective and means the opposite of tight. It is not a verb! “Lose”, please note that there is only one ‘o’, is the verb that the creator was looking for.

As an English Language graduate and owner of two copies of “Eats, shoots and leaves“, I am horrified by the number of errors such as this that I see every day. And not just in casual writing, on Twitter and blogs, but in newspapers and magazines. Whoever does the editing for most of the monthly glossy magazines needs a course in grammar, let me tell you that. And don’t get me started on the television. I shout at the television when people get things wrong.

But how did the situation get so bad? I know it seems like a cop-out to blame schools but education is a big issue. I was lucky when I was at school in that we had spelling tests, we were taught how to use an apostrophe, we were taught what nouns, verbs and adjectives were. I’m not sure how much of this is taught in schools now. But what I learnt is still nowhere near sufficient.

My degree was split between English Language and French and I always found French grammar particularly difficult. I could only remember rules by remembering examples. But when I went to university and started studying English Language as a subject everything became much clearer. How on earth was I meant to learn the grammar of another language when I didn’t have a clue about the grammar of my own language?

So for me, the solution to the chronic issue of bad spelling and grammar lies in education and teaching children how to do things the right way. And whilst that will not rescue the current generation it might do a little to preserve the English language in the future.

What do you think about the current state of grammar and spelling in the UK? Do you think education should be improved or is it just how the English Language is evolving?

Average Josephine x

8 thoughts on “Spot the “deliberate” mistake

  1. Bravo! Bugs the t**s off me too! Facebook sends me round the bend and back! My fist frequently gets shoved in my mouth in an attempt to stifle my words of frustration and vent my fury. It’s not just the education we have to blame for this, or rather the lack of it, but when did it become acceptable to use text speak anywhere else other than in a text? And actually is that even acceptable? *Steps down from soap box.* – Sally

    • I confess to occasionally using text speak on Twitter due to the character limits but other than that, totally agree with you. Text speak drives me crackers (well, more crackers than I am already) and now that texts are not as limited as they were it’s not even really necessary. I have one friend who always sent me these grammatically perfect texts. I loved them! Always cheered up my day no end 😉

  2. Argh! Drives me mad too. I LOVE blogs but I see a lot of stuff on blogs that is just wrong 😦 Reign/rein, lose/loose and many more that I can’t even think of right now! Although I have to say I notice it a lot more on American blogs than UK ones.

    • they’re/their/there, hear/here, bear/bare… I would go on but I might have to scream. I think US blogs may be worse but it might just be I notice it more because I’m going “that’s spelt wrong” anyway!

  3. Ok… so are you actually me?! First I read yesterday fabulous post and agree completely… now I read this.

    I am like the grammar police – not just in work, but in life! I spot so many mistakes in everything I read… and I honestly think that there is no excuse if something has allegedly been proof read.

    My two biggest hates…. your and you’re, and to and too. Just learn the difference people!!!! Grrrrrrrrr.

    • Always good to find someone you share a brain with!
      And I totally agree, if I’m reading something which should have been proofread and there’s a mistake I tend to go nuts. If you don’t know how it should work and you’re proofreading something then you need to learn- quickly!!

  4. No, schools do not do enough to ensure grammar is learnt, therefore responsibilty lies with the parents. My son is 12, and I am sure ‘dat e wud luv to typ fings da same az iz m8s’, with no regards for spelling or punctuation, but it is not happening. I have been drumming into him for years the importance of good spelling and grammar, to the point where I am certain he is fed up hearing it. Hopefully though, he will thank me in the long run.

    Also, it makes my blood boil to see people creating new spellings of words, that do not even shorten them. For example, seeing gorgeous written as ‘gorjuss’. Oh, I could rant all day on this topic!

    • Seems I’ve found a hot spot with this post! I do think schools need to do more as they might get marks in exams if it is (somewhat) intelligible but in the big wide world, an employer is going to look at an application form with text speak or dodgy spelling on it and it will go in the bin. I’m sure as much as it drove me up the wall when my mother did it, your son will thank you as I thank my mum for focusing on how important proper spelling and grammar are.

      And I agree with you, gorjuss? Who thought of that one?! And do not get me started on “chillax”… Seriously? How hard is it to use two separate wrods?!

What do you think? Add your views!

