Precious possessions

It is a bit of a cliche: what are the possessions you would save in a fire?  And to be honest I don’t have that many that are absolute must haves but the ones I do have are things I would never forgive myself if I lost.

Luckily two of them never leave my person.  I habitually wear four rings, one on my left hand and three on my right.  None of them are new, they are all from the period between 1910 and 1930 and I have bought all of them with money I have inherited from family members.  I could have bought new ones but these are so beautifully made and the jewellery from the period is elegant and delicate unlike a lot of modern jewellery.  There are two which are particularly special; the ring I wear on my left hand which I bought with money I inherited from my great-uncle.  It’s a 0.65ct diamond solitaire with three tiny diamonds down each shoulder.

Uncle Jess' ring

The other is my newest (as in purchased most recently) is a gorgeous three stone ring with an oval ruby in the centre and diamonds either side.  Bought with money I inherited from my grandmother, it has barely been off my finger since I bought it in January.  None of them are very expensive in modern terms- the amount I paid for all of them wouldn’t pay for a small Tiffany solitaire for example, but it’s the sentimental reasons behind them that are so precious.

My other two “possessions” that I would save in a fire would I hope have the sense to escape anyway!  But on the other hand, they are not known for their good sense so I might have to round them up…  They are my two gorgeous Ragdoll cats, a breed known for their beauty and laid-back personality.  They are not however known for their good sense.  Both of them have jumped out of upstairs windows, one of them breaking a foot in the process, and Max will forever be known as the cat who fell in the toilet as a kitten.

But, as a single girl with no children, they are my babies.  They have seen me through some of the worst days of my life and whilst there are days when they drive me mad (Max is unusual for the breed being spectacularly whingy and he really does whinge, brings whole new meaning to the word catterwaul), I wouldn’t be without them for the world.  To the extent that I would risk myself in a fire to save them.  They love nearly unconditionally (Kit can hold a grudge for a couple of years when really annoyed) and when I’m having a bad day one of them crawling onto my lap and purring like a train will make everything better.

My beautiful babies!

My beautiful babies! Kit and Max

And that is it.  Whilst I’m a bit of a shopaholic and have as much stuff as the next person, that’s what it is at the end of the day: stuff.  It isn’t anything that I would risk my life over whereas the rings I wear are memories of two beloved and departed relatives and my cats are members of the family.  We are all very attached to stuff- me as much as anyone else- but it isn’t the end of the world.

What would you save in a fire?  Is there much you would keep or is it a select few items?

Feel free to leave your comments; they are all appreciated!

Average Josephine x

What do you think? Add your views!

