Daydreams…

I have a dream….

Sorry Martin Luther King, whilst I believe that all men (and women) are created equal, it is not this dream of which I speak.  No, I dream of one day walking away from my current career (I’m an accountant, well, nearly!) and doing something that I love.  I dream, not of Jeannie, but of a little cafe bakery where I can bake and provide cake and other yummy goodies to all who visit.

When I lived in Glasgow there was a fantastic coffee shop near where I lived, it was open late (11pm at the weekends from memory) allowing us somewhere to go and talk without having a drink. They provided board games and big comfy leather sofas.  You could take your own wine if you really wanted a drink, there was a modest corkage fee but nothing over the top.  The only thing that slightly let it down was the food.  The cakes and muffins were OK but they were mass-produced and tasted it.  The only thing that was brilliant food-wise was their almond croissants.  So often these are dry, with a layer of heavy, claggy almond paste; these were light and squidgy. Delicious.

Every now and then I see things and think “that’s what I want” for the cafe.  I make no bones about the fact I want it to be girly in nature, not so much so that it would alienate the boys but definitely a bit kitsch in nature.  I was flicking through Domestic Sluttery’s blog and found this:

Jelly and Cake Wallpaper from Thornback and Peel

Available only on special order from Thornback and Peel, it is £65 per roll so could only ever be used as a feature wall somewhere it wouldn’t get too damaged but jelly and cake wallpaper!  How cool is that!  I have so many plans and I can spend hours searching the internet for logos that I could use, recipes, chairs, tables, you name it I’ve looked for it!

But at the moment this is very much a dream, I have a long way to go before I could think about making it real.  But in the meantime, it’s nice to have a future to dream about that doesn’t involve my current 9-5.

Do you daydream of another career?  Or are you one of the lucky ones who loves what they do and can’t imagine doing anything else?

Average Josephine x

What do you think? Add your views!

