The emperor’s new clothes

How many times has it happened, you’ve opened a magazine, seen a model wearing something completely hideous, checked who made it and gone “it cost HOW much?”  I remember looking at net-a-porter one day and seeing a dress that looked like it was made out of my grandmother’s curtains.  It was a McQueen and about four grand.  I wonder sometimes whether designers actually think before they make some of their clothes….

Citrus overload....

Similarly there was a tweet recently with this picture of Leighton Meester on the set of Gossip Girl recently from one of the magazines I follow.  I looked and tweeted back pretty much immediately. My answer,” no, she looks dreadful. That colour totally drains her complexion.”  A tad bitchy but true.  And seriously, I can only imagine what it cost…

Unfortunately here is what I refer to as a case of the Emperor’s new clothes…  Citrus brights are bang on trend at the moment but they do not suit a lot of people, Leighton Meester included (sorry Blair!).  I understand that Gossip Girl is a high fashion show but for me, fashion should be attractive.  This is just fashion victim.

One of my problems is that when it comes to fashion, I am naturally conservative and I am a great believer in the mantra that fashion is transient, style is forever.  I also believe that a lot of people need to remember that fashion victim is not an attractive look whereas put a woman in a timeless little black dress…

High fashion is an art form, please don’t get me wrong, but a lot of it doesn’t belong in real life.  Even the pret a porter collections need to be taken with a pinch of salt sometimes!  Use trends such as citrus, which are not particularly wearable at the best of time, as highlights rather than a head to toe look.  And for the love of Gucci, don’t wear a colour if it doesn’t suit you!  I look absolutely awful in the vast majority of yellows and oranges so they won’t be entering my wardrobe any time soon.

Just remember, just because it’s fashionable doesn’t mean it looks good….

Take care

Average Josephine x

What do you think? Add your views!

