Dirty laundry

I am not a great fan of airing dirty laundry in public. Says she with the blog where she grumbles at length… OK, slight oxymoron aside, there are some things that I don’t think need to be or, in fact, should be aired in the public domain and one of these things is a break up.

They’re horrible to go through and as much as you might want to spray your partner’s shortcomings all over the internet or whatever there is a greater dignity in silence. I say that as someone who went through a horrible, hideous break up, albeit a long time ago now, and there were a lot of times where I said things I shouldn’t and where I cringe now when I think of it.

So when I read on Marie Claire’s website that Katy Perry was planning on making a tell-all biopic about her break-up with Russell Brand, my heart sank. As much as I hate to say it, it’s likely to get a decent audience because it’s a bit like car crash TV. There’s that morbid bit of you which just has to look. It’s like every time a magazine posts a tweet saying “Celeb shock split!” There’s a bit of you that wants to look.

Katy Perry and Russel Brand

But what is it actually going to achieve? Regardless of whose fault the split was, all it will do is encourage Perry to spend however long it takes to film focused on a relationship which is effectively dead and buried. And again, I’ve been there, I know the temptation is to rehash it and try to understand what went wrong and whose fault it was but sometimes you just have to accept that it didn’t work and move on.

Again, I don’t know either of them and, to be honest, I’m not exactly their biggest fans. I don’t like Perry’s music and I don’t think Brand is funny but I do think that they should be allowed to live their private lives in peace. Unfortunately with Perry now feeding the tabloid frenzy neither will be allowed to forget it and move on in a hurry.

There’s also the issue that making a film about yourself could be considered incredibly narcissistic but I don’t think that will come as a surprise to anyone…

Do you think that celebrities should be allowed a private life away from the media? Or do they invite speculation by choosing a life in the public eye? And do you think that Perry should be making a film about the break-up or is this one step too far?

Would love to hear your thoughts on the subject.

Average Josephine x

What do you think? Add your views!

