A broken clock

I think I broke my mother’s heart today.

We’d gone out for a family lunch, me, my parents, brother, sister-in-law and my two nephews, B (2 ½) and R (4 months). R is normally the happiest baby in the world, perfectly satisfied in his car seat, but unfortunately at the moment we have a nasty case of teething. That plus a cold means he’s not a happy boy. As a result I spent a lot of time carrying him, having him perched on my lap and just having all round cuddles.

Oh the hardship…

I think the fact that I spent so much time with R and also drawing pictures with B gave my Mum the idea that more grandchildren were on the cards as it might indicate that at long last my biological clock might (finally) have started ticking…

Alas, my clock seems to be broken… Sorry Mum, but if I were you, I wouldn’t be counting on any more grandchildren.

broken biological clock

That might sound harsh but at 31 I’m not getting any younger and when you’re single without the slightest hint of any romantic prospects and no real desire to actually look for the so-called Mr. Right, it’s not so much being harsh as realistic. And whilst I could do it alone either via one-night stand or a sperm donor, having a baby is hard enough when there are two of you. I have nothing against single parents; I know a lot of them who do an amazing job. But being a single parent through death or separation is a totally different matter to setting out with the intention of being one.

But in addition to that I also have to consider my history with depression. I would be at high risk of both ante-natal and post-natal depression and I’m not sure I can knowingly do something that would put me at risk of feeling like that again. There is also the risk of any child of mine being more susceptible to this horrible illness than the child of someone who doesn’t have depression. Now whilst anyone can suffer from depression, but it’s more likely. I don’t judge anyone who has had depression who has then had children, I’m just saying that it’s not right for me.

Add to that there’s the small issue of I just don’t want to have them and you end up with a biological clock that just doesn’t tick. No Ally McBeal-style dancing babies for me. No ticking clocks. Just a quiet life.

And that doesn’t make me unhappy. It’s just the way it is. I think my Mum would prefer my biological clock would start ticking loudly but such is life.

Do you want or have children? Do you think that you can have a happy, fulfilled life without children?

Average Josephine x

3 thoughts on “A broken clock

  1. I have one child and no desire to have anymore. I love and adore my daughter but my career goals had to be put on hold for a long time due to being a parent which I do sometimes feel sad about.

    Without children I feel the world is your oyster!

  2. I’m 27 and can’t wait to have kids. For me, they’re a definite part of my life plan and I wouldn’t feel happy or fulfilled without them (at least I don’t think). But everyone’s different and I’m sure there are lots of people out there having fulfilled lives without kids.

  3. I have two children but in all honesty it took me a long time to adjust (I had them at 34 & 38). I think it’s impossible to imagine the all consuming effect children have on your life until they arrive. I love them to bits & they bring me a lot of joy, but that doesn’t mean everyone finds joy in this way. In my mind, 31 is still very young and your life is full of opportunities… I hate that people feel pressured into having children or indeed doing anything that society considers the norm.

    You do what you believe is right for you! :D

    Nic x

What do you think? Add your views!

