Laura Ashley: guilty pleasures

When I was little Laura Ashley was the height of decorating sophistication. I will point out that I grew up in the eighties when chintz was big.

Then came Ikea and their minimalist “chuck out your chintz” approach and Laura Ashley was very definitely passé. I still don’t entirely know how they survived those years. But then came along “shabby chic” and Laura Ashley found a new generation of devotees.

I had always written off Laura Ashley as being old-fashioned and more aimed at my mother’s generation but when I saw their teacup lamp being featured in various magazines I decided that maybe they’d moved on from the wallpaper I’d picked out when I was eight…

When I looked through their website I knew I was in trouble. Or rather, my bank balance was in trouble… I’ve written about one of their wallpapers before and there are many more that I would love to have on my walls if only my flat was bigger. But for me it’s the accessories that really hit the mark.

As I said, the teacup lamp really hit a chord with a lot of magazine editors and was one of those items that seemed to be everywhere. And I see why. It is very shabby chic. It ties in very well to the current trend of vintage styling and making over items to change their purpose. And whilst Laura Ashley no longer sells it, there are a number of other versions. Next have a version in their current catalogue and for the crafty ones among you, there is even a tutorial on how to make on on The Thriftress blog. This would also allow you to use patterned teacups or different colours to suit your decor.

laura ashley and next teacup lamps

There are so many other little gems dotted around the Laura Ashley website. Just in terms of accessories, there is a gorgeous set of owl bookends which would go brilliantly in my study. I love both the All A Flutter and Elvedon tea cups and the tea for one sets and with my tea addiction there is no such thing as having too many tea cups or teapots! The white multi-frame photo frame, designed to go on a mantelpiece, would look amazing anywhere, be it mantelpiece or shelf and I already have it earmarked for at least one friend’s birthday present.

laura ashley home accessories

The furniture is equally gorgeous and, whilst most of it is in the shabby chic style, there are some more modern gems in there such as the orange sofa below and the dark wood desk.

laura ashley furniture

Overall, I am having a bit of a love affair with Laura Ashley and there are another 2 reasons why, as if I needed any more. Firstly, they have 25% off everything on their site. Unfortunately that ends tomorrow (Sunday) night. Secondly they have a competition on their facebook page to win your dream upholstered chair. Considering it costs nothing to enter, why not give it a go?

So go on, take a look at Laura Ashley. I guarantee you’ll find something. Let me know your favourite piece in the comments section below.

Average Josephine x

What do you think? Add your views!

