Bag Lady

Some people are shoe people. I know the way to my best friend’s heart is through a pair of Christian Louboutin’s for example. And whilst I love shoes, I find spending masses of money on them quite difficult. I don’t mind spending a significant sum of money of a pair of shoes which, with a bit of TLC, will last for several years without going out of fashion. but the problem is even with the best will in the world, no pair of shoes will last forever.

But a handbag, a handbag could very easily last you the rest of your life. Granted, they need a bit of TLC, protector spray and keeping relatively dry, but if it’s well made they should last a really long time. So whilst shoes are the way to some girls’ hearts, bags are definitely the way to mine.

In a perfect world where money was no object I would have a small stash of Mulberry bags. They are gorgeous, well made and British (fewer fashion miles). What more could you want? Alas, I do not have a stash of Mulberry bags because they are a little , OK, a LOT, out of my price range. But a girl can dream…

Mulberry Love

That’s not to say that just because you can’t afford Mulberry you are limited to a life of crap handbags. There are a number of brands out there who make much more reasonably priced but still high quality bags. I am currently toting about a Ted Baker bag from about two years ago which has the most gorgeous soft leather (a random requirement of mine, bags should feel nice!) in a dark purple-y blue. I also have a nice selection (I’m up to three at the moment) of Radley handbags.

Radley is a company whose bags I love. They do sometimes go a bit overboard on the details but their more classic bags are wonderful. All of mine have been either Christmas or birthday presents although I am considering investing in another. My current favourite is modelled by Laura Bailey in one of their new adverts although I do confess I would buy it in my favourite purple rather than the cream advertised.

Laura Bailey for Radley

Laura Bailey for Radley

If not Radley then one option I have discovered recently is another British company (I like supporting British industry)  called Peony and Moore. One of Deborah Meaden’s Business Accelerators finalists and shortlisted for a Bath Life New Business Award 2012, this is a really up and coming company making classic but not old-fahsioned leather bags. There are two in particular, the Gilly and Lucia on my hit list and would be great additions to anyone’s handbag collection.

Peony and Moore "Lucia" bag

Peony and Moore "Lucia" bag

So if the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach then the way to a woman’s definitely seems to be through her accessories!

Are you a bag or a shoe person? And what is your limit when shopping for these items?

Average Josephine x

PS. If you buy Easy Living magazine at a bargainous £2 this month (normal price £3.70) there is a code to get 20% off when shopping at www.radley.co.uk so go buy it!!

What do you think? Add your views!

