A waste of good cake

Despite the fact that I can’t eat the majority of cakes now, I still collect cake recipes like a mad woman as I do still bake (half of my recipes board on Pinterest is cake related). Other people just benefit from the sugary goodness and my waistline benefits from me not eating it.

But there is a type of cake which I don’t like and despite it being the it cake of the moment, I don’t really see the point of.

Red velvet cake.

Red Velvet Cake. Source: www.joyofbaking.com

Red Velvet Cake. Source: http://www.joyofbaking.com

I have only had it once and that was a cupcake from none other than the Hummingbird Bakery so it should have been the best going but it was a bit dry (which might have been the baking) and tasted like food colouring. Yep, you could taste the colouring in there. Not pleasant. And this is the big reason I don’t do red velvet cake. Because the modern recipe has corrupted what was a traditional recipe from America’s deep South where the red the name refers to came from a reaction between the cocoa and the buttermilk the cake contained. Whilst even the most authentic recipes contained colouring it wasn’t in the quantities that are used now. Whilst this is partly due to a change in the processing of cocoa (I’m not going to get into the science of it) which makes the red tinge more pronounced, as time has gone by people have got more and more fixated on the ‘red’ part of red velvet cake rather than the cake itself.

We do not need red velvet pancakes, brownies, cheesecake or anything¬†else and we certainly don’t need blue velvet cake (the idea makes my head hurt). And if you really want red velvet cake, then do the best thing for your body and make chocolate beetroot cake. At least that way you can claim to have had a vegetable portion with your pudding.

Are you a red velvet cake fan? Or do you prefer your cake minus the massive amounts of colouring?

Average Josephine x

3 thoughts on “A waste of good cake

  1. I’m in love with red velvet! I like the combination of the sweet and the tanginess of the cream cheese and I think the flavours happen to merge together wonderfully.

  2. I totally agree. I don’t get Red Velvet Cake at all; it tastes of food colouring to me too. I’d much rather have a proper chocolate cake or a carrot cake if I want the cream cheese topping.

    • Absolutely! I love cream cheese frosting on cake, especially carrot or banana cake. But the only reason red velvet is famous is because of the colour, not the taste. And that I object to.

What do you think? Add your views!

